Compare versions tool should return screen to state when enabled

• Apr 14, 2019 - 15:00
Reported version
3.0
Priority
P2 - Medium
Type
Functional
Frequency
Few
Severity
S4 - Minor
Reproducibility
Always
Status
active
Regression
No
Workaround
Yes
Project
Tags

When select View comparison tool then unselect it, the screen is always left with documents stacked selected. This tool should make note of the documents display when enabled and returned to that state when disabled.


Comments

There is a discussion in https://musescore.org/en/node/288397 that makes me question rather this should even be fixed. Currently there is no way to easily view your last saved score without using this bug. Perhaps ensuring the previous version will be left open if the score comparison tool is activated with split screen would allow for the bug to be fixed and the feature to remain.

I can't say it matters much to me, but why not just leave the comparison tool open while doing this comparison against the last saved version? Or does it seem useful to be able to view the last saved version singly? For some reason, that thought makes me slgihtly uneasy, since it isn't a "real" file. But there is another interesting aspect to this - since edits are locked, it's a backdoor way to get a score in "read only" mode. I had mentioned that in passing once before. Now if that were exposed as a top level feature, and then somehow integrated with everything else here, that could be interesting.